Prigogine prize

Call for applications:

European Centre for Advanced Studies in Thermodynamics (ECAST)

Centre Européen de Réflexion et d’Etude en Thermodynamique (CERET)

Ilya Prigogine Prize in Thermodynamics 2017

The Ilya Prigogine Prize is endowed with an amount of 2000 Euros in addition to a diploma. The prize honours Ph.D. dissertations/theses accomplished by young researchers, defended or published between January 2015 and January 2017. All aspects and branches of thermodynamics are considered, from applied and experimental to the most theoretical.

This prize, organized by ECAST, was patronized by the Nobel Prize laureate Ilya Prigogine personally, while he was alive. Every two years, it is bestowed on a promising young researcher in thermodynamics for his/her Ph.D. dissertation/thesis. Its calendar is linked to that of the Joint European Thermodynamics Conference (JETC). The former winners of the prize are listed below.

The applications will be examined by a selection committee of about ten scientists from different European countries. They will act as experts themselves and/or will choose the best experts in the domains concerned. The composition of the selection committee will be made public.

Conferral of the 2017 Prize:
The prize will be conferred solemnly during the JETC’17 meeting which will be held in Budapest, Hungary, May 21 – 25, 2017. The recipient will on this occasion give an oral presentation of his/her work. The candidates will be informed of the results by the end of April 2017.

The following documents should be submitted as pdf or word files by e-mail:

  • a letter of application with the applicant’s full address, phone number, and e-mail
  • a curriculum vitae of the applicant
  • the full thesis
  • a short English abstract (no more than 2 pages)
  • if the thesis is not in English, an extended (20 pages) summary in English
  • the report of the jury or the reviewers of the dissertation/thesis, if any
  • a list of the applicant’s publications

Deadline: February 15, 2017

Send all documents to:

Evaluation Committee:

  • Bjarne Andresen (Denmark)
  • Gian-Paolo Beretta (Italy)
  • Jakob De Swaan Arons (The Netherlands)
  • Pierre Gaspard (Belgium)
  • Karl Heinz Hoffmann (Germany)
  • Miguel Rubi (Spain)
  • Doros Theodorou (Greece)
  • Daniel Tondeur (France)


Former winners:

2015 – Ronan Killian McGovern
The economics of future membrane desalination processes and applications
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

2013 – Anders Lervik
Energy dissipation in biomolecular machines
Chemistry Department, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway

2011 – Kirill Glavatskiy
Multicomponent interfacial transport as described by the square gradient model
Chemistry Department, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway

2009 – David Andrieux
Nonequilibrium statistical thermodynamics at the nanoscale
Center for Nonlinear Phenomena and Complex Systems, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

2007 – Stefano Mazzoni
Pattern formation in convective instabilities in a colloidal suspension
Physics Department, Universita degli Studi di Milano, Italy

2005 – Benoît Scheid
Evolution and stability of falling liquid films with thermocapillary effects
Departement de Physique des Fluides, Faculté des Sciences Appliquées, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

2003 – David Reguera
Mesosocopic nonequilibrium kinetics of nucleation processes
Facultat de Fisica, Departament de Fisica Fondamental, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain

2001 – Emmanuel Bertrand
Transition de mouillage des alcanes sur l’eau: rôle des interactions entre interfaces
Laboratoire de Physique Statistique de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France